emmanuel: god with us today

uploaded to flickr by jeremy stockwell

today as i write, i have the song “o come o come emmanuel” on repeat on my iPod  and it is so deeply speaking to my soul that my writing is being interrupted by my own tears.

o come, o come, emmanuel
and ransom captive israel
that mourns in lonely exile here
until the son of god appear
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
shall come to thee, o israel.

i like the pleading nature of the song. i imagine israel crying out to god – please free us from our lonely exile. we are out of options without you.

2009 has been a difficult year, a few things this year didn’t go the way i had hoped or even expected. but today i’m captivated by the idea that emmanuel, god with us, has come to me.

because when i think about this past year, i can see a new spirit formed in me, and a deeper faith, a new level to my spirituality, and a fresh perspective on the world around me. and i’m more grateful for emmanuel’s daily presence with me than ever before.

advent this year has been a symbolic reminder to me that god is with me all the time. even when i don’t feel his presence near me, or it seems as if my prayers have gone unanswered – he has come to me and to israel and to all people. rejoice!

i’m depending on and rejoining in the fact that emmanuel, god with us, means:

  • peace to calm all fears
  • strength to restore the broken world
  • courage to tell the truth
  • hope for new life
  • vision to imagine a better way

may emmanuel’s peace and presence be with you today. rejoice!

recently my friend aaron niequist created this amazing video – featuring his song “resistance” interwoven with “o come o come emmanuel” for a willow creek weekend service. may it bless and inspire your spirit today.

One response to this post.

  1. Hey Amy-

    Our pastor’s sermon yesterday was in this spirit- how unanswered prayer and brokenness can affect our trust in God, and the power of being connected to the bigger story. It was about Zachariah. You may want to check it out: http://www.blackhawkchurch.org/resources/this_weeks_message.php.

    I also love that song. We too often forget how much we need rescuing,and how Christmas is a celebration of the beginning of the world’s redemption.

    Steph

    Reply

Leave a comment